REVIEW: Hesjedal becomes 2nd rider to win Giro in final stage

CYCLING – Ryder Hesjedal won the 2012 Giro d’Italia after overtaking Joaquim Rodríguez in the final stage, an individual time trial over 28.2 kilometres. Hesjedal had a deficit of 31 seconds and turned it into a lead of 16 seconds on Rodríguez.

  • Hesjedal became the first Canadian on the podium in any of the three Grand Tours. Previous best for Canada was a fourth place by Steve Bauer in the 1988 Tour de France.
  • This was the second time a rider lost the lead in the final stage of the Giro d’Italia. In 1984, Laurent Fignon lost the lead to Francesco Moser in the final stage, also an individual time trial.
  • Hesjedal did not win an individual stage, becoming the 15th rider to win the general classification without winning a stage in the Giro. Last year, Michele Scarponi also did not win a stage in the Giro.
  • The time gap of 16 second between the Canadian and the Spaniard is the smallest in 38 years in the Giro, when Eddy Merckx won the race with a lead of 12 seconds on Gibi Baronchelli.
  • In total this is the fourth smallest time gap between the Giro winner and runner-up.
  • Belgian rider Thomas De Gendt finished third, making it the first time since 1995 and fifth in total that no Italian rider is in the top-3 in the general classification.

Smallest time gap between winner and runner-up

11 sec – 1948 Winner: Fiorenzo Magni (ITA) – Runner-up: Ezio Cecchi (ITA)

12 sec – 1974 Winner: Eddy Merckx (BEL) – Runner-up: Gibi Baronchelli (ITA)

13 sec – 1955 Winner: Fiorenzo Magni (ITA) – Runner-up: Fausto Coppi (ITA

16 sec – 2012 Winner: Ryder Hesjedal (CAN) – Runner-up: Joaquim Rodríguez (ESP)


Giro d’Italia editions without Italian rider on podium

1972 – 1st Eddy Merckx (BEL), 2nd José Manuel Fuente (ESP), 3rd Francisco Galdos (ESP)

1987 – 1st Stephen Roche (IRL), 2nd Robert Millar (GBR), 3rd Erik Breukink (NED)

1988 – 1st Andy Hampsten (USA), 2nd Erik Breukink (NED), 3rd Urs Zimmermann (SUI)

1995 – 1st Toni Rominger (SUI), 2nd Evgueni Berzin (RUS), 3rd Piotr Ugrumov (LAT)

2012 – 1st Ryder Hesjedal (CAN), 2nd Joaquim Rodríguez (ESP), 3rd Thomas De Gendt (BEL)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s