PREVIEW: Djokovic completes quartet of final berths

TENNIS – By defeating Roger Federer in last Friday’s semifinal, Novak Djokovic earned himself his first final spot at Roland Garros. That makes the Serb only the ninth man since the beginning of the Open Era to appear in all four Major finals (Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon, US Open) at least once.

Year in which they reached their fourth different GS final (Open era)

1969 – Rod Laver (US Open)

1971 – Ken Rosewall (Australian Open)

1986 – Ivan Lendl (Wimbledon)

1991 – Stefan Edberg (US Open)

1993 – Jim Courier (Wimbledon)

1995 – Andre Agassi (Australian Open)

2006 – Roger Federer (Roland Garros)

2010 – Rafael Nadal (US Open)

2012 – Novak Djokovic (Roland Garros)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s