AWARDS SHOW: Malkin gets NHL’s MVP honours

The Kings are the NHL’s champions, but on an individual level Russians reign supreme. For the third time in five years, a Russian hockey star skates away with the Hart Memorial Trophy, the oldest and most prestigious individual award in hockey. After Alexander Ovechkin in 2008 and 2009, now Evgeni Malkin can call himself the Most Valuable Player over the regular season.

> Malkin left Henrik Lundqvist (New York Rangers) and Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay Lightning) behind in the voting.

> For the sixth time in NHL history, a Pittsburgh Penguin picks up the HMT, after Mario Lemieux (1988, 1993, 1996), Jaromir Jagr (1999), and Sidney Crosby (2007).

> For the fifth time in the past ten years, the HMT laureate couldn’t make it past the first play-off round – Malkin’s Penguins lost 4-2 to the Philadelphia Flyers. The last HMT winner who won the Stanley Cup in the same season was Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning, 2004).

> Once again, an offenseman wins the HMT. The last non-offenseman winning the HMT was goalie Jose Theodore in 2002.

> Ovechkin (Washington Capitals) and Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins) were the first and second pick respectively in the 2004 NHL Draft.

Infostrada Sports Group thanks Richard van Welie and @SportAmerika for coming up with this statistic.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s