REVIEW: Boston Red Sox win their eighth World Series

BASEBALL – The Boston Red Sox won their eighth World Series in franchise history and a
league-high third since the year 2000 by seeing off the St. Louis Cardinals in
six games in the 2013 World Series. It was the first time in 95 years (1918)
that the Red Sox closed out the World Series in front of a home crowd.

> Since that time, the Fenway Park faithful had only seen the St. Louis
Cardinals (1967) and Cincinnati Reds (1975) celebrate a championship in their stadium.
> David Ortiz was named Series MVP. It was only the second time
that this honour was bestowed upon a designated hitter, with the New York
Yankees’ Hideki Matsui being the first in 2009.
> The victory capped off a remarkable turnaround season for the Red Sox who join the 1991 Minnesota Twins as the only teams to win the Fall Classic one year after finishing in last place in their division.
> This is now the fifth season in a row that the World Series have been won by a team that failed to reach the postseason altogether in the previous year.

REVIEW: Chelsea closing in on Brazil

FOOTBALL – Chelsea defeated Arsenal 2-0 at the Emirates Stadium in the 4th Round in the Capital One Cup. This was Chelsea’s fourth win at the Emirates, surpassing the number of wins Aston Villa and Manchester United have at that ground. Only Arsenal (139) and the Brazilian National Team (5) have had more wins in official matches at the stadium which opened in the 2006/07 season.

PREVIEW: Heat & James eye three-peat

BASKETBALL – The 2013/2014 NBA regular season tips off on Tuesday, October 29, with the reigning champions Miami Heat hosting Chicago Bulls. After winning the NBA championship in 2012 and 2013, Miami Heat eye a third successive title.

  • Three franchises have achieved to win the title in at least three successive years – Boston Celtics, Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers and Chicago Bulls (see table below).
  • Heat star LeBron James was crowned Most Valuable Player four times (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013). He can join the legendary Bill Russell (Celtics) and Michael Jordan (Bulls) on five. Only Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee Bucks/Lakers) has more (6 incl. 1 as Lew Alcindor).
  • James will go for a personal three-peat as well: he has won MVP and championship two years in a row, a fact only Russell and Jordan (twice) topped with three straight years.

Teams with 3+ successive NBA championships

8 – Boston Celtic – 1959-66

3 – Minneapolis Lakers – 1952-54

3 – Chicago Bulls – 1991-93

3 – Chicago Bulls – 1996-98

3 – Los Angeles Lakers – 2000-02

2 – Miami Heat 2012-

REVIEW: Megatron 7 yards shy of receiving record

NFL – Calvin Johnson had 329 receiving yards for the Detroit Lions against the Dallas Cowboys in the NFL today. Megatron came seven yards shy of Willie Anderson’s (336 yards) all-time single game receiving record in the NFL.

Most receiving yards per game in NFL

336 – Willie Anderson – Los Angeles Rams – 1989

329 – Calvin Johnson – Detroit Lions – 2013

309 – Stephone Paige – Kansas City Chiefs – 1985

303 – Jim Benton – Cleveland Browns – 1945

302 – Cloyce Box – Detroit Lions – 1950

REVIEW: Serena wins WTA Championships for fourth time

TENNIS – Serena Williams defeated Li Na in the 2013 WTA Championships final on Sunday. This was the fourth time Serena Williams won this tournament, equalling Chris Evert. Only Martina Navratilova (8) and Steffi Graf (5) have won more often. Serena became the first player to win this tournament in back-to-back seasons since Justine Henin in 2006.

REVIEW: Roma equal Serie A winning record

FOOTBALL – Roma defeated Udinese 1-0 in their Serie A away match on Sunday. AS Roma have equalled an all-time Serie A record by winning their ninth consecutive match since the start of the season (Juventus 2005/06).

  • Roma have only conceded one goal this Serie A season. This equals an almost 50 year old league record after nine matches (1966/67, Cagliari & Inter).
  • Roma beat Udinese after one of their players was sent off. Last time this occurred for Roma was at Bari in May 2011 (3-2 win).

REVIEW: Vettel fourth with four F1 titles

FORMULA 1 – Sebastian Vettel won the Formula One Grand Prix of India on Sunday, securing his fourth F1 drivers’ title, all in succession. He became the fourth driver win at least four F1 drivers’ titles and the third to win the championship in at least four successive seasons.

Drivers with most F1 world drivers’ titles

7 – Michael Schumacher (GER) – 1994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004

5 – Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG) – 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957

4 – Alain Prost (FRA) – 1985, 1986, 1989, 1993

4 – Sebastian Vettel (GER) – 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013

  • Vettel is by far the youngest of the four drivers when they secured their fourth drivers’ title, beating Michael Schumacher by more than six years.

 Youngest drivers winning their their fourth drivers’ title

26-116 – Sebastian Vettel (2013)

32-228 – Michael Schumacher (2001)

38-214 – Alain Prost (1993)

45-070 – Juan Manuel Fangio (1956)

  • Vettel won a Grand Prix for the sixth successive time. Only two other, Alberto Ascari and Michael Schumacher have won six or more in consecutive fashion. 

Most successive F1 Grands Prix won

7 – Alberto Ascari (1952-Belgium – 1953-Argentina)

7 – Michael Schumacher (2004-Europe – 2004-Germany)

6 – Michael Schumacher (2000-Italy – 2001-Malaysia)

6 – Sebastian Vettel (2013-Belgium – 2013-India)