ANALYSE THIS: West heavily dominates East in NBA

BASKETBALL – Since the most recent re-alignment in the NBA, the teams based in the Western Conference typically finish the season with a greater winning percentage than the teams from the Eastern Conference. Since 2004/05, last season was the most lopsided with the West sporting a 63.1% winning percentage. This season, there is even a greater lack of balance, with the West leading at 71.6%.

Continue reading

RECORD – Duncan poised to break NBA playoffs record

BASKETBALL – The San Antonio Spurs’ Tim Duncan has played a grand total of 8,837 minutes in his NBA postseason career and needs only another 15 minutes of court time to surpass the all-time record holder, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. Game 4 of the 2014 NBA Finals is scheduled for Thursday night.

Continue reading

PREVIEW: Heat & James eye three-peat

BASKETBALL – The 2013/2014 NBA regular season tips off on Tuesday, October 29, with the reigning champions Miami Heat hosting Chicago Bulls. After winning the NBA championship in 2012 and 2013, Miami Heat eye a third successive title.

  • Three franchises have achieved to win the title in at least three successive years – Boston Celtics, Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers and Chicago Bulls (see table below).
  • Heat star LeBron James was crowned Most Valuable Player four times (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013). He can join the legendary Bill Russell (Celtics) and Michael Jordan (Bulls) on five. Only Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee Bucks/Lakers) has more (6 incl. 1 as Lew Alcindor).
  • James will go for a personal three-peat as well: he has won MVP and championship two years in a row, a fact only Russell and Jordan (twice) topped with three straight years.

Teams with 3+ successive NBA championships

8 – Boston Celtic – 1959-66

3 – Minneapolis Lakers – 1952-54

3 – Chicago Bulls – 1991-93

3 – Chicago Bulls – 1996-98

3 – Los Angeles Lakers – 2000-02

2 – Miami Heat 2012-

ANALYSE THIS – Ninth symphonies of the NBA maestros

BASKETBALL – The 2012/2013 NBA basketball season will start today and the early feature match involves the first step of the title defence of the Miami Heat and their star player LeBron James. ‘King James’ is embarking on his 10th professional season and we have compared him with several other dominant players at the same juncture in their careers.

James won only his first championship ring last season. His one title after nine seasons is lagging behind several other stars, but is on a par with Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who eventually won five titles. James is averaging 27.6 points per game through his first nine seasons, which is more than several other legends during the same span.

Where they stood after nine seasons of NBA basketball – selected players